Return to Picture This homepage

What is Picture This? It's a two-year series of activities in support of regional filmmaking education, funded by the President's Initiative Fund program (a partnership of the Cleveland Foundation, the George Gund Foundation and Cleveland State University). Year 1 (2003-2004) included a collaboration between Cleveland State University and Independent Pictures (founders of the Ohio Independent Film Festival) on a production assistant training program, a 16 mm film shoot, nonlinear editing, and a short screenplay competition.

Picture This Year 1:
The CSU/IP Short Screenplay Competition 2004

Winners Announced

The Competition included three categories: Best Screenplay, Best Screenplay on the 2004 Theme of "The Right to Privacy," and Best Student Screenplay.

First-place winners in each category are now eligible for possible 16 mm production during Year 2 of Picture This!

CSU homepage

Independent Pictures homepage


Last updated on 1/4/05

Picture This: The CSU/IP 2004 Short Screenplay Awards

Best Screenplay:

1st--Fear Comes to Paxton Street, Kimberley Butler, Cleveland, OH
2nd--Good Day, Kimberley Butler, Cleveland, OH
3rd--East 9th Street, Steven & Justin Kohn, Chagrin Falls, OH

Best Screenplay on the 2004 Theme-The Right to Privacy

1st - 2nd (tie)--As it Turns Out, Michael Shanabruch, Lakewood, OH
1st - 2nd (tie)--Watchers, Steven & Justin Kohn, Chagrin Falls, OH
3rd--Bubble and Bones, Sarah Helbling, Lakewood, OH

Best Student Screenplay:

1st--The Promise, Warren Doman, Concord Township, OH
2nd--Red Paint, Zlatko Coralic, Westlake, OH
3rd--Berenice, James Evans Remick, Cleveland Heights, OH